M. Tennis: Wins continue for Falcons in conference match

M. Tennis shuts out El Camino, 9-0
M. Tennis shuts out El Camino, 9-0

On Tuesday, the Cerritos College men's tennis team extended their winning streak to six in a row after shutting out host El Camino College, 9-0. The Western State Conference East Division win also improved the team's record to 4-0 in conference play. The Falcons are scheduled to host Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (NY) on Wednesday at 2:0 p.m. in a non-conference match, but rain is scheduled for the day and may wash the match away.

Cerritos swept past the Warriors in all six singles matches, while they dropped just eight games in the three doubles matches combined. At the bottom of the singles ladder, sophomores Tomas Bella (Colegio Mallinckrodt, Argentina/Cypress College) and Nico De La Pena (Downey HS) recorded identical 6-2, 6-1 scores, while the top half of the ladder saw the Falcon players get stronger as the match progressed. Freshman Arthur Toledo (Goliath Academy, FL) earned a 6-4, 6-0 win at the top of the ladder, while sophomore Bruno Duarte (Centro Educacional Rogêdo, Brazil) posted a 6-1, 6-0 win in the #2 spot. As for freshman Lucas Legrand (Marie, France), he finished off Hollard Choi, 6-2, 6-0 in the #3 spot on the ladder. Freshman Stevan Quintantar (Cerritos HS) closed out the sweep with a 6-4, 6-2 win.

The top two doubles teams of Legrand and sophomore Jan Simon (Gymnasium Auf Der Karthause, Germany/Cypress College), along with Toledo and Bella recorded 8-1 victories.

Arthur Toledo (CERR) def. Trey Vasquez (ECC), 6-4, 6-0
Bruno Duarte (CERR) def. Connor Davis (ECC), 6-1, 6-0
Lucas Legrand (CERR) def. Hollard Choi (ECC), 6-2, 6-0
Stevan Quintantar (CERR) def. Andre Dinh (ECC), 6-4, 6-2
Tomas Bella (CERR) def. Stephen Whitman (ECC), 6-2, 6-1
Nico De La Pena (CERR) def. Seitaro Tanaka (ECC), 6-2, 6-1

Lucas Legrand/Jan Simon (CERR) def. Trey Vasquez/Hollard Choi (ECC), 8-1
Arthur Toledo/Tomas Bella (CERR) def. Connor Davis/Stephen Whitman (ECC), 8-1
Stevan Quintantar/Nico De La Pena (CERR) def. Andre Dinh/Seitaro Tanaka (ECC), 8-6