M. Tennis: Win improves winning streak to 10 matches

File Photo: Mark Antoniuk and the Falcons defeated LA Pierce, 8-1
File Photo: Mark Antoniuk and the Falcons defeated LA Pierce, 8-1

Continuing their stellar play this season, the Cerritos College men's tennis team ran their winning streak to 10 matches in a row with an 8-1 non-conference win over host Los Angeles Pierce College on Tuesday. The Falcons (12-1, 3-0) will resume South Coast Conference play when they host College of the Desert in a 2:00 p.m. match on Thursday.

Sitting out five of their regular players, Cerritos still won five straight set matches in singles play against the Brahmas. Playing in the #1 singles position for the first time this season, freshman James Zhang (Shenzhen Luohu Foreign Language School, China) earned a solid 6-1, 6-2 victory, while sophomore Edgar Munoz (Paramount HS) played to a 6-3, 6-2 decision in the #2 position. Sophomore Mark Antoniuk (W. 124 School, Russia) improved to 3-0 in the #3 spot on the ladder with a 6-2, 6-1 victory.

Freshman Kyle Konishi (Mayfair HS) is also now 3-0 in the #4 spot on the ladder after earning a 6-0, 6-0 win, with freshman Derik Dizon (Mayfair HS) improving to 3-0 on the season with his 6-1, 6-1 triumph at the bottom of the singles ladder.

In doubles play, Zhang and Antoniuk paired up for the first time this season and recorded an 8-4 win in the #1 doubles match, while Munoz and Konishi both remained undefeated in doubles after they posted an 8-1 win. Dizon and sophomore David Evans (Long Beach Wilson HS), who suffered a three-set loss in singles, improved to 4-0 as a pair after a tough 9-8 win to finished off the win.


James Zhang (CERR) def. Manish Kumar (LAP), 6-1, 6-2
Edgar Munoz (CERR) def. Nick Kerhulas (LAP), 6-3, 6-2
Mark Antoniuk (CERR) def. Kirendev Devaraj (LAP), 6-2, 6-1
Kyle Konishi (CERR) def. Daniel Barerra (LAP), 6-0, 6-0
Sean Reid (LAP) def. David Evans (CERR), 6-4, 2-6, 10-8
Derik Dizon (CERR) def. Anthony Avakian (LAP), 6-1, 6-1


James Zhang/Mark Antoniuk (CERR) def. Manish Kumar/Nick Kerhulas (LAP), 8-4
Edgar Munoz/Kyle Konishi (CERR) def. Kirendev Devaraj/Sean Reid (LAP), 8-1
David Evans/Derik Dizon (CERR) def. Daniel Barerra/Anthony Avakian (LAP), 9-8