M. Tennis: Cerritos posts pair of wins over Mt. SAC

File Photo: Cerritos defeated Mt. SAC twice on Tuesday
File Photo: Cerritos defeated Mt. SAC twice on Tuesday

Playing their second Western State Conference East Division doubleheader of the season, the Cerritos College men's tennis team posted a pair of 9-0 wins over Mt. San Antonio College. It clinches the sixth straight conference title for the Falcons (19-2, 6-0) and their 11th in the last 14 years. They will now travel to El Camino College on Wednesday for another conference match.

The two matches gave the Falcons a chance to get in players who have seen limited action this season and they all came through with wins. Additionally, several doubles pairings were making their debuts, with the same results.

In the first match, Cerritos went through the Mounties in straight sets in singles play and picked up three convincing doubles victories. The second match saw two singles matches go to a third set tie-breaker, with the Falcons coming out on top. 

Kent Hunter (CERR) def. Matt Diamond (MSAC), 6-0, 6-1
Biel Roca Carreras (CERR) def. Brendan Narvarez (MSAC), 6-1, 6-1
Victor Plaza-Barnils (CERR) def. Nalitha Liyanage (MSAC), 6-0, 6-0
Shabani Kabura (CERR) def. John Munoz (MSAC), 6-1, 6-0
Nico De La Pena (CERR) def. Alex Mariscal (MSAC), 6-1, 6-1
Jacob Corleto (CERR) def. Jeremy Searcy (MSAC), 6-4, 6-4

Kent Hunter/Alex Prokopchuk (CERR) def. Matt Diamond/Brendan Narvarez (MSAC), 8-0
Kwangeun Lee/Victor Plaza-Barnils (CERR) def. Nalitha Liyanage/John Munoz (MSAC), 8-0
Shabani Kabura/Nico De La Pena (CERR) def. Alex Mariscal/Jeremy Searcy (MSAC), 8-2

Alex Prokopchuk (CERR) def. Matt Diamond (MSAC), 6-1, 6-1
Kwangeun Lee (CERR) def. Brendan Narvarez (MSAC), 4-6, 6-4, 10-8
Victor Plaza-Barnils (CERR) def. Nalitha Liyanage (MSAC), 6-1, 6-0
Nico De La Pena (CERR) def. John Munoz (MSAC), 7-6, 6-2
Shabani Kabura (CERR) def. Alex Mariscal (MSAC), 6-1, 6-1
Jacob Corleto (CERR) def. Jeremy Searcy (MSAC), 6-1, 3-6, 10-6

Alex Prokopchuk/Shabani Kabura (CERR) def. Matt Diamond/Brendan Narvarez (MSAC), 8-2
Biel Roca Carreras/Victor Plaza-Barnils(CERR) def. Nalitha Liyanage/John Munoz (MSAC), 8-0
Nico De La Pena/Jacob Corleto (CERR) def. Alex Mariscal/Jeremy Searcy (MSAC), 8-3