M. Tennis: Team finishes regualr season

File Photo: Marcos Paulo Silvestre win his singles match in straight sets
File Photo: Marcos Paulo Silvestre win his singles match in straight sets

In their final regular season match, the Cerritos College men's tennis team defeated host Glendale College, 8-1 on Tuesday. The Falcons (24-2), ranked #1 in the state, will now host the Western State Conference East Division Tournament this Thursday through Saturday.

Continuing to rest some of their top singles players, the singles ladder had yet another new look. Freshman Alex Prokopchuk (School 45, Ukraine) assumed the top spot on the ladder for the third time and recorded his third victory, as he defeated Kevin Orellana, 6-0, 6-2. Sophomore Kwangeun Lee (Sunny Hills HS) improved to 5-0 in the #2 position after his 6-1, 6-4 victory, with sophomore Marcos Paulo Silvestre (Colégio Tiradentes of PMMG, Brazil) winning his second match in as many tries in the #3 spot on the ladder, 6-2, 6-3.

Freshman Victor Plaza-Barnils (AESA Prep Academy, TX) kept the wins coming with his 6-0, 6-2 victory in his third successful stint in the #4 spot, with freshman Nico De La Pena (Downey HS) now 5-0 in the #5 position after winning easily, 6-1, 6-1.

Prokopchuk and Silvestre earned an 8-0 shutout win as a doubles pair, which makes them 7-0 as partners this season, while Lee teamed with freshman Dario Rico-Altozano (Colegio Cumbre, Spain) for an 8-2 victory for their 11th win together. The Falcons third doubles pair, Plaza-Barnils and De La Pena paired up for the first time and posted an 8-1 win.

Alex Prokopchuk (CERR) def. Kevin Orellana (GLEN), 6-0, 6-2
Kwangeun Lee (CERR) def. David Orellana (GLEN), 6-1, 6-4
Marcos Paulo Silvestre (CERR) def. Natsuki Abe (GLEN), 6-2, 6-3
Victor Plaza-Barnils (CERR) def. Daniel Garcia (GLEN), 6-0, 6-2
Nico De La Pena (CERR) def. Sam Azaryan (GLEN), 6-1, 6-1
Eric Minassian (GLEN) def. Jacob Corleto (CERR), 6-0, 6-1

Alex Prokopchuk/Marcos Paulo Silvestre (CERR) def. Kevin Orellana/David Orellana (GLEN), 8-0
Kwangeun Lee/Dario Rico-Altozano (CERR) def. Natsuki Abe/Daniel Garcia (GLEN), 8-2
Victor Plaza-Barnils/Nico De La Pena (CERR) def. Sam Azaryan/Eric Minassian (GLEN), 8-1