M. Tennis: Cerritos knocks off another post-season rival

Cerritos defeats Ventura, 7-2
Cerritos defeats Ventura, 7-2

In the last seven years, the Cerritos College men's tennis team has posted an 8-1 record against Ventura College. That record includes both a 2-0 record in the post-season and a 7-2 win over the Pirates in a non-conference match on Tuesday. In their last two matches, Cerritos (3-1) has defeated both Irvine Valley College and Ventura College, who have both been Southern California power programs. The team will open defense of their Western State Conference East Division title on Thursday at 2:00 p.m. when they host El Camino College.

Earning a pair of wins in the three doubles matches, the Falcons rode that momentum and won five of the six singles matches. In doubles play, the tandem of freshman Stevan Quintanar (Cerritos HS) and sophomore Nico De La Pena (Downey HS) earned a solid 8-0 win in the #3 position, and followed with wins in singles play. Quintanar had to come back in his #4 match against Kyle Spiegelman after dropping the first set, 3-6. He responded with a 6-1 win the second set and then earned a 10-3 win in the tiebreaker, while De La Pena did not surrender a game in his singles match.

Sophomore Jan Simon (Gymnasium Auf Der Karthause, Germany/Cypress College) teamed with freshman Lucas Legrand (Marie, France) for an 8-3 doubles win, while Simon posted a 6-1, 6-2 singles victory in his #2 match. At the top of the singles ladder, freshman Arthur Toledo (Goliath Academy, FL) posted a 6-3, 6-0 win, while sophomore Tomas Bella (Colegio Mallinckrodt, Argentina/Cypress College) scored a 6-0, 6-1 straight set victory.

Arthur Toledo (CERR) def. Antonio Rosales (VC), 6-3, 6-0
Charles De La Laurencie (VC) def. Bruno Duarte (CERR), 6-2, 3-2 (retired)
Jan Simon (CERR) def. Alexandre Campolina (VC), 6-1, 6-2
Stevan Quintanar (CERR) def. Kyle Spiegelman (VC), 3-6, 6-1, 10-3
Tomas Bella (CERR) def. Thiago Batista (VC), 6-0, 6-1
Nico De La Pena (CERR) def. Jaime Valdez (VC), 6-0, 6-0

Antonio Rosales/Kyle Spiegelman (VC) def. Arthur Toledo/Bruno Duarte (CERR), 8-6
Jan Simon/Lucas Legrand (CERR) def. Alexandre Campolina/Thiago Batista (VC), 8-3
Stevan Quintanar/Nico De La Pena (CERR) def. Jacob Boucher/Eric Rodriguez (VC), 8-0