M. Track & Field: Falcons advance 10 to SoCal Finals

Cerritos track is in third place after SoCal Prelims
Cerritos track is in third place after SoCal Prelims

Competing in the Southern California Prelims at San Diego Mesa College on Saturday, the Cerritos College men's track and field team has advanced 10 athletes to the finals. The  Southern California Championships will take place next Saturday at San Diego Mesa. The Falcons are currently tied for third place with Saddleback College, who have both collected 17 team points, with Mt. San Antonio College in front with 32 points.

In addition to the qualifiers from the prelims, other members of the team have already advanced to the SoCal Finals based on marks turned in earlier in the season.

Freshman Mason Crane (Corona del Mar HS) earned a fourth place finish in the hammer with a distance of 50.74 meters, which is shy of his personal best of 52.49 meters. Also earning points for the Falcons were shot putters Bedeiah Togafau (Warren HS), who finished on fifth place (14.47 meters), with Jorge Bergara (Salesian HS) recording a distance of 13.88 meters, good for seventh place.

Below is a list of the Cerritos athletes that competed at the SoCal Prelims, with the championship qualifiers in bold.

Tayric Elliott 200 Meters 22.08 18th Place
Clay Green 800 Meters 1:59.63 15th Place
Cristhian Macias 1500 Meters 4:06.67 4th Place
Eugene Leduc 400-Meter IH 57.55 15th Place
Jamal Awad 3000-Meter SC 10:30.29 20th Place
  4x100-Meter Relay 42.50 5th Place
  4x400-Meter Relay 3:24.31 9th Place
Armando Tabales High Jump 1.85 Meters Tied 12th Place
Ike Agubata High Jump 1.70 Meters 20th Place
Andrew Fowler High Jump 1.65 Meters 23rd Place
Andrew Fowler Pole Vault 4.35 Meters Tied 7th Place
Brian Castillo Pole Vault 4.05 Meters 19th Place
Ike Agubata Long Jump 6.30 Meters 20th Place
Micqwaun Wright Triple Jump 12.82 Meters 21st Place
Bedeiah Togafau Shot Put 14.47 Meters 5th Place
Jorge Bergara Shot Put 13.88 Meters 7th Place
Mason Crane Shot Put 11.95 Meters 23rd Place
Mason Crane Hammer 50.74 Meters 4th Place
Bedeiah Togafau Hammer 41.65 Meters 13th Place
Kevin Puertas Hammer 41.55 Meters 14th Place
Jorge Bergara Hammer 37.39 Meters 22nd Place